Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Damp Yellow Bird

I got a really good look at Yellow Bird this morning.  He came out to play before dawn.  I got up really early, too, and sat outside for the first time in well over a month.  I scared off most of the birds because I wasn't all that still.  But Yellow Bird didn't seem to notice me, or if he did, he didn't give two tweets.  It was just really nice to be out in the cool, mild, warm, refreshing morning air. 

I had my coffee and breakfast and did an Audubon Society hummingbird patch survey.  There is definitely more than one Costa's hummingbird.  I know it's Zippy sitting high up in the ocotillo keeping watch.  When he flies away, another one flies in from a different direction. It's fun sometimes to just sit, watch and survey them without waiting to try to photograph them.

The only photos I took were of Yellow Bird because he was so entertaining.  I posted a bunch of extras of him having fun.
I named them.  In order they are:
Licky-Licky
The Ostrich Stretch: Who's There?
Splish-Splash
The Forward 1-1/2 in the Pike Position

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.