Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Milky Way Over Mount Tripp and the Rangitata River

I decided now that I've kicked the worst of my lurgy that it was about time that I headed out under the stars once more.

After thinking on location and timing, I decided to plan this shot of the Milky Way rising over Mount Tripp on the other side of the Rangitata River.  I knew that if I headed out early in the night that the Milky Way appear reasonably vertical as the galactic core reached its azimuth, so I used the PhotoPills app on my iPhone to help me with planning the time that it would appear like this at this location. Neat. 

I shot at this location a few weeks ago and thought it would be a good place for astrophotography, so it's great that my plan worked out! 

Another reason for choosing tonight - under a quarter moon rather than new moon - was to light the foreground with the soft moonlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.