BVFL33

By BVFL33

Moss Side Has Many Sides.

Today has been a challenging , adventurous day .Let's call it 'understand and get through the tangled web of the NHS.' day .
I'm registered but  simply do not speak or understand the jargonistic twaddle introduced by the higher office thinkers of the NHS .
I was told on Monday the state of my hand was urgent I must see a district nurse and have a swab taken . This by the Boots walk in Centre nurse . A practice , a nurse but not allowed to do swabs and send  away !  Why ? Who can say . My own practice had no appointments, have no nurse and who they use for dressings etc were fully booked for over a week !  Hence my going to Boots as a walk in . Two hours of my calling round found a district nurse & sanity. I went today to Moss Side Health Centre. She had called my Doc who said so what . It will get better by itself. How I wish it were so . Today tests have had to be made and a lot of skin cut away.  However this terrific District Nurse and I  had a laugh and a cup of coffee was made for me .She was  brilliant , efficient, spoke in plain terms minus  silly jargon. Getting there was a mystery and a no go on my bike as one does need two hands . However the buses were good and look at what greeted me when I got off .Wild flowers galore including poppies . The butterfies I couldn't catch to blip . As for the birds there were a pair finding many a juicy item .in the grass. Later as I walked it back and yes  (took the wrong turning for the bus stop) came to Asda . Seems more than humans shop there .These birds were clearly regulars  and nothing seemed to budge them. Not even when some one went to get a trolley or replace .I go back soon and for the 1st time feel and know I'm in good hands . It is rumoured that District nurses are being cut back and eventually phased out . A jolly fine mess that will be .
Too many pen pushers and not enough really needed down to earth professionals . Funny day , colourful , eventful , challenging , and blipping marvellous .Let's hear it for common sense and nurses .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.