Milky Way and Meteor Trail

Arriving today at almost the furthest reach of western Wales, we had no respite after setting up camp as the night was forecast to be the clearest all week. Which proved to be the case.

The dark sky map suggests that the Dale peninsula is a good spot from which to view the night sky, although light pollution from Milford Haven interferes.

Despite grumbling that we needed our rest, Len drove me up the hill at the back of the village just after 11pm. We should have headed for the disused airfield but took a wrong turning and ended up in a farmyard. No matter. I set up the tripod and camera on the track leading to the farm, turning my back on Milford Haven and the few lights from Dale, population 225.

I was overjoyed to get this shot with my Fujifilm x-t1 with a 14mm prime lens. It's about as sharp as I could hope to get with this setup. Even though 30 seconds is not terribly long for a night sky exposure, you can still spot the beginning of star trails.

What makes this even more special is the meteor trail crossing the galaxy. I also saw a shooting star for real as we were packing up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.