BEAUTY IN NATURE

Mr. HCB doesn’t often go to cricket on a Saturday but today his team is playing the second day in a four day game, so he has gone to Bristol to watch them play and hopefully win.  I know he will be having a pastie for lunch today, not the usual salad, because Keith, his friend with whom he travels, is also taking his son, Graham, who is over on holiday from Portland, Oregon.  Apparently, one of the things that you just cannot buy in Portland is a pastie so they will be walking down to Gloucester Road and buying one for their lunch.

As I had the car, I decided to visit a beautiful park, called The Town Gardens, in the older part of our town, which according to the sign, were laid out and opened in 1894.  We knew Harold Adams, who was a gardener there for 38 years and I was pleased to see a seat in the gardens in memory of him and his wife, Doreen.  Harold died in 2000 and I was interested to see that he was the founder of the Richard Jefferies Society in the town.  He would he pleased to know how beautiful and well-kept the gardens still look.

We often used to bring our two sons here, and listened to many concerts sitting around the bandstand.  As I watched these twin girls running around, it brought back many happy memories of when our boys used to do the same.

In the last few days, several journalists have called our town “the ugliest town in England” but I cannot agree with that - wandering through these beautiful gardens this morning, I wonder if the writers of the articles have ever visited our town - I very much doubt it?

“Beauty lies 
     in the eyes of the beholder”
Plato 

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's rose.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.