MONO MONDAY - SMELL

Smell : The sense, located in the nasal cavities of mammals and relying on the olfactory nerves, by which molecules borne in a fluid such as air can be perceived; the olfactory sense.

You may very well be wondering what a photograph of a door has to do with smell - when you have had 16 doors painted in your house, with gloss paint, then perhaps you can imagine!

Our decorator, Tony, has done a wonderful job, but I must confess to feeling a little “heady” this morning, almost as if I could be hungover - not that I have ever really been hungover in my life, but I imagine that this is how I would feel. 

According to information gleaned from the internet: our smelling function is carried out by two small odour-detecting patches – made up of about five or six million yellowish cells – high up in the nasal passages.  

The doors and windows will be left open as much as possible today to get rid of the smell of paint and then we have the job of deciding whether or not all the pictures will be going back up on the walls or whether we will leave it looking bare.  We still haven’t decided what to do in our lounge, so I guess this could take a while.

I looked up the meaning of the words fragrance and odour - and came up with these alternatives:

Scent, perfume, bouquet, aroma, redolence, savour, tang, essence, stench, stink, whiff, pong, sniff, reek - out of all of these, I think the one I would use for our house at the moment is reek - our house reeks of paint - none of the others quite fit.

The word "fragrance" reminded me of these verses:

Through us, God brings knowledge of Christ. 
Everywhere we go, people breathe in the exquisite fragrance. 
Because of Christ, we give off a sweet scent rising to God, 
which is recognized by those on the way of salvation -
an aroma redolent with life. 
But those on the way to destruction 
treat us more like the stench from a rotting corpse.

2 Corinthians 2 : 14-16 The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.