DERELICT SUNDAY

This will be short and sweet, after yesterday’s tome!  We have the decorator in painting our hall, landing and stairs - and a great job he is doing too, so I decided that it might be better if I went out to find the dereliction we had seen a few weeks ago, before Church rather than after.

I was amazed at how many people and cars were around before 8 on a Sunday morning, but I guess that for many people nowadays, Sunday is no different from any other day.  

We had spotted piles of scrap metal - or perhaps I should say “recycled” metal at a large plant  not far from where we live, so had stored that in my mind for a Derelict Sunday blip.  I found out that the track running alongside is the disused Great Western Railways (GWR) Highworth branch line and this photograph was taken from the hump-backed bridge joining Gipsy Lane and Bridge End Road. 

There was plenty of buddleia growing near the track, but sadly not close enough to the fence for me to take a cutting and recycle it to my garden!

When all the trees have been cut down,
When all the animals have been hunted,
When all the waters are polluted,
When all the air is unsafe to breathe,
Only then will we discover that you can’t eat money.
Cree Indian saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.