MONO MONDAY - WATER

I had to go into town today to meet a friend, so decided that I would take the opportunity to get a photograph of the “stacked fountain” which is in our town centre.

I have no doubt that the sight of an older more mature lady taking photographs of a fountain in the rain was rather funny - and I did get a few strange looks, but then, we Blippers are used to that, aren’t we?

This sculpture is the work of designers, Walter Jack and Paul Channing and constructed by Richard Stump and John Hall.  It is located in Swindon’s main shopping centre where four of its important streets meet - Regent Street, Canal Walk, Bridge Street and The Parade.  When it’s hot, children can be seen running through it, but on a grey and mizzley day, I was the only one anywhere near.

Job done for the Mono Monday Challenge, I wandered along to meet my friend, Angela, and had a fantastic cup of Italian coffee in a little Italian delicatessen, Da Paolo.  It only cost £1 - in fact, I had two cups, they were so good, which made me wonder how the “big boys” justify charging 150% more than that.  I was also introduced to Sarah, a young lady who has just started working as a journalist on our local paper, so another new friend.  

I then walked along the path that was the route of the old canal, to meet Mr. HCB and saw a fantastic mural - but am going to save that for another time.  A couple of teenagers were in the skateboard park, so I stopped and asked them about it and they happily gave me some information - lovely lads and it was great to chat to them - not all teenagers wearing hoodies are bad lads!  I’m beginning to think that my brain will explode with all the stuff I have earmarked for future Blips.

To all those who have to work on a Monday:

May your clothes be comfy,
     your coffee be strong,
          and your Monday be short!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.