Art Journal Play

I found I was getting bogged down by journal prompts that weren't working for me anymore . . . I was not creating any new pages in my journal. So, I decided instead of a using a prompt, I would simply PLAY in my art journal. I'm so happy to say it worked like a charm! I had a lot of fun, got messy/painty and tried out a new set of lovely stencils from StencilGirl. You can see and read more about it here. This photo is a close up of just one section of one of the pages I did. It felt great! 

Often prompts are a great spark of inspiration, so I won't give them up completely. But I think I will give The Documented Life Project a rest and use other inspiration to work in my art journal now. I am glad I did what I did (see the link above to various blips), but perhaps 6 months is enough for now, for me. It is more important for me to find ways to jump in and create, to go with the flow and with what works for me. What do you think?? 

"When you go through a hard period,
When everything seems to oppose you,
... When you feel you cannot even bear one more minute,
NEVER GIVE UP!
Because it is the time and place that the course will divert!”

― Rumi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.