A time for everything

By turnx3

Reading by the river

Friday

A beautiful day, so when I went out walking down to the river mid-morning, I took my Kindle with me, and sat and read by the Seine for a while, enjoying the sunshine and the pleasant relaxing view. The book I'm currently reading is The Luminaries by the young New Zealand writer, Eleanor Catton, winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize. It is the longest book (at 832 pages), and Catton the youngest author (at age 28), ever to win the award. The book is based in New Zealand's goldfields in 1866, and follows Walter Moody, a prospector who travels to the fledgling settlement of Hokitika, on the West Coast of the South Island, to try to make his fortune. Instead he stumbles into a tense meeting between twelve local men, who draw him in to the complex mystery behind a series of unsolved crimes. Being such a long book, we deliberately chose to do it in September, so we had the summer to read it! I'm on the home stretch now, having read 85%!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.