Capital adventures

By marchmont

Palma

Slept wonderfully, although earplugs definitely needed - not partying Brits but traffic, especially the air brakes on the bendy #3 buses as they round the corner.

I'd been given some info, like all the local restaurants are good, but for me the attraction of an apartment is not having to eat in a restaurant so it was off on a food hunt. A cursory inspection of the local, small, supermarkets showed that they stocked a few tins, a lot of bottles and much beach stuff. I did get a toothbrush and toothpaste top replace the ones I'd left at home and then decided to jump a #3 a head off for Palma.

It was overcast but warm and I had a look around, and staying for some of the Mass in the Cathedral. As I walked around the clouds lifted, the sun came out and it was hot. Placa Major reminded me of Montauban but I think Montauban is more atmospheric. I ended up having a late lunch (and two cervezas) here, which I then discovered, from my Lonely Planet is quite a Palma landmark.

Back on the bus to Illetas and then to the roof top pool, which is surrounded by beautiful gardens - geraniums and bourganvillea. I did manage to get some basic foodstuffs so the evening was spent on the balcony watching the planes take off (one every minute) and fly across the Bay.

Day 1 was a great success.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.