pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Excess water....

Tonight's torrential rain saw a sudden flood of water start gushing like a waterfall (no exaggeration) through the top of the patio doors and proceed run across the carpet. 

Jon had to grab a raincoat (the only reason I used this photo, as it's MY coat he grabbed) and dash out into the garden. We clearly do have a problem with the doors. Not having actually lived in our house before now, for any more than a week in the summer and the same in the winter, we have never encountered this before. In addition the gutters were full off moss which was directing a proper gush of water straight on to the top of the doors. So here is Jon clearing them - in the raincoat!

The rest of my day was pretty uneventful. I didn't feel 100% this morning - I'm still not sleeping that well. It is very hot in our little bedroom, and even worse with 2 of us. So in that respect I'm looking forward to some cooler weather......lucky that! At last I may get something I want!

Mollie & Henry went to the cinema in Cromer to see a film called 'Absolutely Anything' as Jon was at home today, then they bought paint and wall paper for Mollie's room, and she made a start on the paint. 

Now they are watching Mission Impossible 3, but being a 'work' night (like a school night, but for grown ups) I don't feel I can sit and watch films. I've written a letter to Barclaycard (a proper letter with paper, pen, envelope and stamp - if anyone wants me to teach their children how to do this, I can do so, for a fee) updated my address and email address on several sites, and opened my first ever 'Gumtree' account. I have a smallish chest freezer, a medium upright freezer and a practically unused top box with all the bars and fixing for sale. I need the money AND the space! Message me if you are interested or know anyone who is!

Bed now I think....

p.s. my extra photo - the washing - grey and gloomy like the weather, and now very very wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.