Focussing on Fitness

I didn't manage to get up early, due to the ridiculous temperature in my bedroom...and it was nothing to do with Jon being home! So not a good nights sleep, and I eventually got out at 7.15, but still made it to work by just after 8.

I have this ridiculous idea that I'm going to get time to sort through and type up all the notes I've made, and then use them to practice each process I've been trained on. Its not happening & it is I frustrating me just a little bit! Not to worry, tomorrow I will set myself more small goals, and try to get more notes typed up! I do like my notes to be detailed!

I had a lunchtime wander, to clear my head. Speaking to Jon at lunchtime, I discovered they had been down to The Links hotel in West Runton, to join their gym and sports club. They have a tennis court, 20m swimming pool and multi gym. As we have returned from our holiday with that feeling that a new term needs new plans, this family membership was very reasonable.

So my plan to stay late this afternoon to finish note typing, went out of the window, as I was eagerly told we would all be heading to the gym as soon as I got home!

The result, was at 6.30 tonight, for the first time ever in my life, I set foot in a gym. Another first at 50! However, I was in there seconds with Jon, when I just knew it wasn't for me. I felt uncomfortable and out of my comfort zone. The kids went off to the tennis court, and i left Jon to his weights and went to the pool. I had it to myself, apart from a quite nice young (about 25?) man, who didn't stay long once I was in there. I swam 40 of the small 20 metre lengths, thinking about various old friends I have swum with over the years as I swam.

Once out, I ventured back to the gym. Jon and the kids were in there as you see in the photo. I did 10 minutes on the bike while Jon finished his workout.

We got home at 8 & after dinner, realised we were missing the Great British Bake Off. A ritual in our house, and one of the few programmes I watch.

A good start to a new fitter us....i hope we keep it up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.