Reunion

Tonight I had the unexpected pleasure of meeting up with a 'girl' I last saw in 1977, when we were at Haslewood Junior School together.

Mandy & I were friends at school, we lived fairly close to one another in Hoddesdaon, and were both members of the popular Haslewood gym club run by Mrs Sergeant and Mrs Stepney. We were 11 when we left Haslewood, and went to different secondary schools. A few years ago, when someone posted this photo on Facebook, I spotted Mandy and sent her a message. We have been Facebook friends ever since, but with me living in first Cambridge and then North Norfolk, and Mandy living in Essex it was pretty unlikely that our paths would cross......until today that is!

Last night, I was surprised to see Mandy had updated her status to show that she and her partner Phil (non Facebook lover) were enjoying a few days away, and staying in a pub just a few minutes drive from my house in West Runton! I couldn't believe it, and made a comment on her status (as you do!)

The result? She invited me to join them tonight, and I couldn't wait to be 'Friends Reunited'...ok, a different website, but you know what I mean! It was a bit of a Cilla Black moment - walking in to the busy pub, looking for someone I last saw when I was 11 years old. I have to say though, that I have had a thoroughly enjoyable evening in the company of Mandy and Phil who are both so lovely that I felt I had known them all my life!!! 

I was so excited, and we were chatting so much (39 years to catch up on...she has lots of grandchildren and holidays in Goa....I still have a child at school and holiday in a trailer tent....we BOTH love antiques!) that I totally forgot to take their photo for my blip!

So here you have the photo which got us back in touch. I'm at the front with the cup, and Mandy is two rows above me, then one child to the right!

I don't think I've got anything interesting to say about the rest of my day! It pales into insignificance. Thank you Mandy & Phil for an entertaining evening. We will meet up again! Lets not leave it 39 years next time....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.