Last day

Before packing up we drove in to Ripon. It was a lovely hot morning, typical on our last day. The town was fairly empty for a Friday in August. We thought it was going to be prettier than it was, and there weren't many shops. Anyway, we did the same as we have done on every other day of our holiday, and found a very nice coffee shop. Lured in by some amazing meringues in the window, we got a table for 4. It was full of people - a good sign. 2 cappucinos, 1 Americano and a vanilla milkshake PLUS meringues. We asked for 2 to share, which the waitress was happy to do. She asked if we wanted fruit compote and ice cream too. It took a millisecond to say 'yes please'. Wow, raspberry meringues, lashings of cream, fruit and the ice cream in a separate little cup. We think it was the best yet. So definitely worth the morning out.

We took the awning down when we got back. It was nice and dry, then sat outside to eat lunch. I had a chat to the lady with the teardrop caravan. She was very chatty, but being nosy, I asked if I could have a look inside. It was just a double bed, with a shelf for the tv. I'll forgive them the tv though, because he built the whole caravan himself.

Now we are sitting in traffic on the A1, heading home. We hope to be home 7.30 ish. I suppose everyone is on the road for the bank holiday weekend. I'm looking forward to my weekend at home. A holiday always makes me want to review everything, so when I've finished blipping I have a notebook handy...and I'm going to start a list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.