Bavarian Girls just waana have fun

,,, and they know how to. Don't get me wrong, they aren't alone in this world and certainly not in the Blip Empire. The president of Tractor Tuesday, MrsTBay from Somerset; Miss WinterFinch from New York State; the Shepherdess in Scotland; BowBelle almost on the Welsh border. Even Scotland's most valuable export to Bavaria, TochterPleach takes part and even though she has trouble knowing which day of the week it is, she now goes to extreme lengths in the service of Tractor Tuesday - On Saturday she phoned Angie on mobile - no reply. She then phoned me - no reply. Phoned our fixed line - no reply and then finally left a message: "Have just passed a tractor meeting by the Autobahn at Buchloe". If that isn't dedication I don't know what is.

Today I went to the Heubodenfest weekend (Hay Loft Festival) at a nearby village, Eutenhausen. By coincidence, there were a few tractors at the "Oldtimer Meeting" which takes place on Sunday. Quite by chance, I had the camera and so couldn't resist taking one or two photos of the locals in their Lederhosen and Dirndl. On Flickr one or two examples, sorry for the odd tractor in the background.

Angie had ridden out in the morning but it was very warm so left Flash at home. She phoned after a while to say Luna was even struggling as they had done quite a bit of cantering. We met up on my way to the festival and I took them both with me. After a while looking at the displays, we did a short walk in the nearby forest so that Flash could stretch his legs. Back at the show, they were very happy to find some shade and lie down. I had left my wallet in the car and eventually, the thirst beat me. We headed home.

In the next village of Markt Rettenbach, I suddenly remembered to drop into the Pizza Take Away I mentioned a few weeks ago, owned by an Indian family from the Punjab. They had said back then they were thinking of introducing a few curry dishes. And indeed they have - just three but it's a start at bringing "exotic" food to this part of the world. The local phrase is "Was der Bauer nicht kennt, frisst er nicht" (What the farmer doesn't know, he doesn't eat).

So delighted at the news I ordered a curry (not too hot) rice and a nan bread and while waiting downed an ice cold bottle of beer. Dashed back home to find ex-brother in law Manfred had dropped by on his trike. I did my best to force him to share the curry with me but he refused saying he needed to lose weight for his wedding suit, needed in a few weeks time. His wife to be, Erika, was up in Berlin for the weekend so he had taken the opportunity for a spin.

So I ate the curry alone and consumed another beer. The curry was really hot. Angie who likes spicy food tried it and sucked in air. Now having two beers at lunchtime and with a full belly, I had to lie down and naturally missed Manfred's departure. All best wishes Erika and Manfred.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.