FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Monsoon Monday

The rain came down in Kent today like a monsoon in a rainforest. A downpour at lunchtime soaked me right through then after work I got drenched again running to the train station.

My dress was so wet you could wring it out like a dishcloth and my shoes filled up with water so I had to empty them halfway to the station!

On arrival at Tunbridge Wells station I noticed a crowd of people outside the station and another crowd on the bridge to Platform 1, so I looked out the window and saw that the train tracks were flooded and the station had become a river!

All services were suspended and there was no information about alternative transport so I ran back up the hill, in the pouring rain again, and waited for a bus to Tonbridge.

After a delayed bus, delayed train and aquaplaning my MX-5 through the country lanes home I eventually made it back almost three hours after leaving work.

Tomorrow will be a drive to work instead of the train. Hopefully that isn't the last we'll see of the summer. I say this wrapped up in a big fluffy dressing gown with thick socks and the heating turned on. Gotta love the British Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.