The Beach

Mr K took the Little Misses to the park first thing. They spent so long faffing about preparing for their expedition that it was pouring down by the time they were ready to go. Undeterred they set off on their bikes anyway - all wrapped up in raincoats!
I went back to bed and enjoyed my tea in peace and then when I could hear the rain getting heavier and heavier I thought I'd better get up and make them something warm for when they got back in.
They came in looking like drowned rats!!
After lunch we headed to Milton Keynes to sort a few things.
Firstly - exciting - bike for me!! I haven't had one since I was about fourteen and I decided it was time to get back in the saddle.
While the Little Misses scooted and cycled around Halfords I wobbled about on a few bikes and made my choice. Embarrassingly there was a nine year old girl trying all the same bikes as me! A bit weird as she was a good few inches shorter than me and could barely reach the floor on some of them! Her dad was obviously trying to avoid having to buy another bike in a year or so!
It all got a bit stressful - who'd have thought, a bike shop on a rainy Sunday afternoon!!! - so we decided to order it online at home later
Secondly - hideous - school shoes for the Little Misses. It's a job I hate but as I only have to do it once a year I can't really complain! 
We went to Clarks, took our number, waited, found out my poor daughters have inherited Mummy's uber wide feet, tried on shoes, argued about whether to get shoes with flashing lights or a hidden toy in the heel - bloody gimmicky, annoying, argument causing, unnecessary stupid things!!!! Then we paid for two pairs, threw in a rather lovely pair of boots for me (woohoo!!) and then escaped from the hideousness for another year!
We went round the corner to the beach outside John Lewis and had half an hour in deck chairs watching the Little Misses dig and build sand castles. Along with tea for me, hot chocolate for the Little Misses and a green tea, lime and mint fruit cooler for Mr K. He was obviously feeling exotic!!
I ordered my bike when I got home. I can't wait to pick it up. And my snazzy purple helmet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.