Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

You can leave your hat on

We had some sunshine this morning, but I knew it would not last before the rain returned. I went for a walk with Murdoch down the hill into the village hoping to find something to photograph, but nothing caught my eye. The swans were not on the river in their usual spot, and so I came home empty handed.

I then had the idea to try and copy some of the portraits taken by two of my favourite portrait photographers, Richard Avedon and Irving Penn. Penn did a very good portrait of Picasso when he was wearing a hat pulled down low. Thomas willingly obliged. However, he was rushing off to get the train to Guildford to meet some friends so he only gave me about 2 minutes to get some shots - I will try again another time!

It has rained all day now and I just hope the weather improves for the bank holiday weekend. Thomas is back to school next week and as luck will have it the weather will probably improve then. September is usually a beautiful month in England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.