*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

237/365: Tree hugger

Wow! Blipping on the actual day and at a reasonable time... that's not happened for a while!

Norm and I had a little trip over to Southwell in Nottinghamshire today. It's not far away from my mum and dad's and yet I only visited it for the first time a couple of years ago and fell in love with the town. It's one of my "feel good" places now.

I love the minster and can happily spend an hour or more looking around. There is so much of interest. I especially love the Airman's Chapel which includes the Katyn memorial, and the Chapter House, which is just stunning but impossible to do justice to in a photo. It is full of Green Men too which I always find strange in a church... the Green Man is the biggest pagan symbol going. I love them... my mum's house is full of them! The garden area of the minster is really beautiful too and recently opened up to the public... that's where I took the pic of the cheeky squirrel :)

Added an extra of the other thing that Southwell is famous for - the Bramley apple. There's a dedicated stained glass window to it in the Minster and loads of other apple-related references dotted about the town.

It's a nice place and the volunteers in the Minster are always helpful and pleasant... as a non-religious person I'm always made to feel very welcome there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.