BVFL33

By BVFL33

Afternoon Tea In Manchester Town Hall

Thanks to the MM theme yesterday I was in Manchester Town Hall.The Scultpure Hall Cafe looked so very tempting I reserved a table for afternoon tea 'today' . It rates well above the Ritz in London and certainly doesn't charge their prices. Having looked Mr Joule in the eye as I entered, a must do was to check if it was possible to wander the main rooms and corridors. It was and once issued with an ID badge off I went up the stairs to the Great Hall. This is breath taking. The vaulted ceiling has  coats of arms of all cities and countries who have traded with Manchester via the Ship Canal. Mr Gladstone stands at the entrance end looking towards a marvellous organ. The left side of the hall has  six murals and so does the rght. My camera didn't do justice Mainly due to electric light. So here is a link .They depict the astonishing history of the city from very early times
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Manchester_Murals#Murals.
In order to enter the hall I crossed a mosaic floor of bees and here you see just one of the many bees. The Lord Mayors Room was huge with a very good view over Albert Square and after several more walks I was very agile and took the stairs down. Everywhere are names and history . Detail and craftmans art is stunning .Throughout my time I could hear the bell chiming the hours etc.This bell weighs tons and was hauled into place up to the bell tower  through a large aperture under the coat of arms you see bottom right. It  has a lovely tone.
Should you ever have the good fortune to be in Manchester do visit the town hall and of course ,' The Sculpture Hall Cafe.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.