Capital adventures

By marchmont

Memories

My last two expereinces of Ryanair check-ins have been long queues and one member of check in staff so I left before 10 to give me plenty of time, but of course in Palma there were more staff and hardly a queue at all. I also managed to get first in the non-rority line so got a window seat which meant I could see the beach and the apartment as we flew over the Bay. It was so hot and sunny again - around 30 degrees I'd say.

I hoped we'd fly over the Pyrenees and the Plateau de Lannemazan. I never saw the Pyrenees but I could tell me weere over France, it looks different from Spain and suddenly I knew exactly where we were. An area I'd spent so much time in between 2007 and 2009 and then summer 2010. It's the confluence of the Tarn and the Garonne that gives the Department its name. The plan d'eau at St Nicolas de la Grave is where I walked alone that first time M went to SA, talking to him on the phone - weird. You can see Moissac and Castelsarrasin, so many happy memories. I don't think w eflew over La G, but we must have come close to it - probably skimming by Lavit, but that would have been on the other side of the plane.

The flight home was a lot more pleasant than the one out which was marred by a stag party that shouted at each other across the rows for the whole 3 hours. Exhausting and perhaps not safe as there was no way the safety announcements could be heard.

The cloud increased as we flew north and by the time we got to Edinburgh it was a green and very soggy land. We deplaned (!) under torrential rain and 11 degrees. A couple of bus trips later I was wishing dad 'Happy Father's Day' - they had a good holiday too.

So now the unpacking is done, mostly clothes (and shoes) I never wore.

36 years ago today we got engaged, today was the beginning of the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.