The second wave

Back to Wellington this morning for another two days with the crisis team. I've put into extras a photo of Ruapehu (the larger, and higher mountain on the right) and Ngauruhoe, volcanic mountains in National Park, as we were flying past them this morning. 

Frustrating to then spend as long in a car as I had in the plane. I drove from the airport to the team base at Kenepuru Hospital in Porirua, to be told that my first appointment (in a half hour) was back in the city I had just driven through. It did mean that I was able to get a very nice coffee and sandwich from Zaida's for my lunch.

This photo of a bunch of Karoro (Black-backed Gulls, also known as Herring Gulls) was taken during my post work run this evening. I had seen a flock of karoro on a sandbar in the Porirua Harbour, some distance from the shore, and thought I might get a bit close for a better photo of them. Half of them chose to not wait until I got as close I had hoped. As I kept walking across the mudflats, there was some strident calling from those in the air, and the remaining birds, a mix of juveniles and adults, flew off to join the first wave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.