A Visit from Horatio Hare

Dear Diary,

My backyard is full of interesting "guests".  The wild turkey families came,  then the crows and finally Horatio Hare turned up to nibble the grass which I've been trying to have cut for days.  I'm glad the man and his machines didn't come or perhaps Horatio would have sought out greener pastures.

Horatio is a snowshoe hare and when winter comes he will turn white.  He is quite large and has enormous feet, hence the name "snowshoe" hare.  But now he is a beautiful brindled brown and he has lovely big dark eyes that were watching me very closely..  I dared not approach any closer but he stayed for over half an hour so the nibbling must have been to his liking.

I do think these daily visitations from my furred and feathered friends are one of the main reasons I love this house so.  Everyday there is something or someone new to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.