Autumn Leaves a Calling Card

Dear Diary,

While deadheading my hosta plants I looked down to see that autumn had left a calling card for me.  Its perfect position on a hosta leaf, with its little seed "packet" lying beside it, was a treat to see. I loved the color contrast of the rusty red and the yellow green.  There, in one place and quite by accident, lay life and death ready for me to contemplate.  I am constantly charmed by these small moments of insight that I stumble across every day.

Yes, the summer is winding down but there was nature reassuring me that it was planting the seeds for its re-birth that will come after the long winter retreat into quiet slumber and rest.  In its final moments of life, the maple tree will shout its joy in blazing colors of red, orange and yellow.  We mustn't be sad because it is over, we should rejoice that we were able to experience another glorious summer season.

Today marks my 500th post.  How time flies by; each day a gift and a blessing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.