Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cardiff Bay Barrage Gates

Midday I returned to the dentist to have my bridge fitted that I told you about on 10th August.  It feels odd having something in the gap after 40 years and will take a few weeks to get used to.

The weather was awful up until mid morning and then the sun appeared. I thought I'd had back to Cardiff Bay back and take flight to get the barrage and sluice gates from the channel; in other words, reversing the picture I took on 10th. It seems fitting as my gap is now reversed!

The extra pic is of The Old Summer house on Northcliff, Penarth Head, that was a Victorian billiard room with commanding views. It's now derelict as it is danger of collapse, and is fenced off for safety reasons. It would have a commanding view of The Bristol Channel and is the point at which the barrage touches Penarth. I couldn't resist a photo of it as I landed.

Construction of the barrage began in 1994 and opened in 2001, costing £120million. It has created a 490 acre freshwater lake, the only salt-water ingress being that from the three locks providing access to and from the sea for the proliferating number of boats using Cardiff Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.