a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Time Flies, Time Crawls

"Time flies, time crawls
Like an insect up and down the walls
 
The light pours out of me
The light pours out of me
 
The conspiracy of silence ought
To revolutionize my thought
 
The light pours out of me
The light pours out of me
 
The cold light of day pours out of me
Leaving me black and so healthy
 
The light pours out of me
The light pours out of me
 
It jerks out of me like blood
In this still life, heart beats up love
 
The light pours out of me

The light pours out of me"


Magazine - The light pours out of me

I left myself very short of time to get a blip today.  As it wasn't actually raining (it is again now), but the sun had set, this was the best that I could manage if it wasn't to be an indoors shot.  Still it does give me a chance to quote from Magazine and to give you a You Tube link.

Back in 1979 when I was coming to the end of my first year at University the first Magazine Album "Real Life" made an enormous impact upon myself and my friends.  Howard DeVoto the lead singer and lyricist had been in the punk band the Buzzcocks but had left just as they got their record deal to form his own band "Magazine".  

DeVoto was in the music press a lot but for me it was the guitar work that was a revelation.  The band featured Scotland's late great John McGeoch on guitar; whose guitar work was distinctive and unique.  At a time when punk guitar was largely strummed chords, McGeoch was doing something quite different.  He went on to play with Siouxsie and the Banshees, Visage and Public Image Limited (PIL) and has been enormously influential on players as diverse as Johnny Marr, Radiohead and John Frusciante of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

Having idolised him for years, it came as quite a surprise to find that I was working with his sister at one stage in my career.  Sadly, I never did get to meet him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.