Saying Goodbye

A few days ago a very good friend of mine lost his mother after a short illness.  I did not know her very well, only having met her on a couple of occasions, but I went to the funeral today, to support my friend.  After the service there was a reception for guests at the Calcot Golf Club near Reading.  My friend's dad was a member there and used to work there.  It's not far from where I used to live and I have driven past it more times than I can count, but had never had reason to drive into the grounds.  

After pouring rain all day, we had a few 'dry' minutes just as I was leaving.  I decided to go for a short walk as I thought it might be the only fresh air I got all day!  The grounds were beautiful, especially the lake, with a few lilies and ducks.  

I let Dolly go to the dog-sitters for the day, since I also had other things to do in this area of town.  She was very glad to see them again and seemed quite surprised when I came back again a few hours later!  My long summer break is finally coming to an end, so she will go back with them on Sunday for the normal 3 days when I return to work.  NOT looking forward to that! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.