Bentheim Castle, Germany

After yesterday's drama, we slept well and I was eager to get going early this morning. However, there was a beautiful huge castle almost next door and we couldn't just drive away without taking a look, now, could we??

So after a hearty German breakfast buffet at the hotel, Dolly and I did a brisk walk around the park and gardens surrounding Bentheim Castle, and climbed the hill and took a look within the castle walls. Other than a couple of other dog walkers there was hardly anyone around and it was a beautiful morning. Dolly enjoyed the coolness of the morning and she RAN like a very happy poodle. Sadly, we couldn't stay long as we still had a long way to go today.

We crossed into Holland as I was eager to get off the German highways. The journey was a little bit better, with less construction than yesterday, but it was still busy and hot. We took a break for a snack and then in the early afternoon I decided we needed a longer break and I knew exactly where to go.

We were in Belgium by now and were just driving past the village where we spent 5 days in May. I made a beeline for the spot where we had had a nice picnic along the canal, but sadly the lone picnic table was already 'occupied'. So we drove to the next village to another spot I remembered, and thankfully we had a bench all to ourselves. We set up our picnic lunch and enjoyed the view. (See extra photo.)

I was just starting to think about how nice an ice-cream would be and maybe we should drive to a cafe I'd seen nearby, when something amazing happened. Out of nowhere, in this remote spot, an ice-cream truck suddenly appeared!  I had a few euros left so I quickly hailed her down and Dolly and I were soon sharing a cone of ice-cream. (Dolly got hers in her bowl).

It was a beautiful tranquil spot and Dolly was soon happily dozing in the shade. I was tempted to stay in a nearby Bed & Breakfast, but with a 950 Eurotunnel booked for tomorrow I decided to push on and drive the last 2 hours to Calais tonight. The 'Ibis Budget' in Calais wasn't as charming as the less expensive but classy B&B in the Flemish countryside, but I knew I'd be glad to not have to leave at 6am  in the morning.

Almost home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.