FLOWER FRIDAY - PAINTED LADY

If you thought that a Painted Lady was only a butterfly, you wouldn’t be quite right - these beautiful flowers on Mr. HCB’s runner bean plants are called Painted Lady too.

I got the idea of taking this photograph from a fellow blipper, Phil, who just happens to be a cricketing friend of Mr. HCB, and who joined Blip quite recently after hearing about it from Mr. HCB.

However, for reasons which most of you know, I am not able to get down on the ground - so I took this from a standing position.  Please don’t mention to Mr. HCB that I had to “dispose of” several large leaves so that they didn’t get in the way - but I don’t think that will have any detrimental effect on the runner beans!

I rather liked the way the red and white flowers were set off against the bright blue sky with a smattering of clouds.   

If a little kid ever asks you just why the sky is blue, 
you look him or her right in the eye and say, 
"It's because of quantum effects involving 
Rayleigh scattering combined with 
a lack of violet photon receptors in our retinae."
Phil Plait

Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday - sorry I didn’t respond - but I appreciated them all - and am trying hard not to feel guilty when I don’t respond or look at as many journals as I feel I should.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.