DERELICT SUNDAY

We had a good service at church, which was shorter than usual, so it meant we were on our way searching for dereliction well before 12.30.  When we were in our favourite spot a couple of weeks ago, we noticed that an old bike frame had been thrown in the hedge - why the person responsible couldn’t have taken it to the tip is anyone’s guess, but I “clocked” it in my brain and we said we would go and see if it was still there.

I knew it was still there on Friday when I came back from my little jaunt, but thought that someone may have moved it - but it was there and had now been hoisted up onto a fence post.

When we got to the lay-by just under Liddington Hill, we or rather I was a little annoyed to see that a large camper van had parked in the lay-by and had actually taken up nearly the whole space, so Mr. HCB drove on a little way and I walked back.  What really upset me more though was the fact that not only was the bike frame on the fence post but there was so much litter around.  Don’t get me wrong, I am all for going to a peaceful, rural spot, to have a picnic but for goodness sake, why don’t people take their litter home with them - why spoil the beauty for everyone? Rant over!

We did sit for a while looking out over the beautiful Wiltshire countryside, and of course, it makes such a difference when the sun is shining.   Must remember to put some gloves and a large black back in the boot of the car, then we can clear some rubbish next time we are there.

“The lover of nature 
     has the highest art 
          in his soul.”
Richard Jefferies

P.S.  Feeling a bit fraught, as this has taken me almost 2 hours to sort and upload - but some days are like that, so according to a good friend, I just need to G.O.I. (Get Over It)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.