MONO MONDAY - SIGHT

You may remember me - I’m Count Duckula and last Thursday I was quite famous on Blip in the Abstract Thursday challenge.  In fact, I was awarded 31 stars and 6 hearts - not bad for my first time - but you wouldn’t believe all the fuss the bears, some frogs and even a penguin made when Mrs. HCB put me back in the toy box last week after my moment of glory!

They were all clamouring to be on Blip, so when I knew it was going to be a Mono Monday shot and the challenge was “Sight” I suggested to Mrs. HCB that we could all wear glasses so she was scurrying around trying to find enough glasses for us all - but of course, even though we all look good in our specs, I think I look the best.  I’m not the oldest of the bunch though - that honour goes to the teddy on my left who is 45 years old, and sadly has lost an eye, but he still wanted to be in the shot.  The two little white teddies were a little miffed they had no glasses, but still wanted to be included!

Although this was a fun blip, there is a serious side, and Mrs. HCB looked up some facts about visual impairment:

285 million people are estimated to be visually impaired worldwide: 
39 million are blind 
246 million have low vision.
About 90% of the world's visually impaired live in low-income settings.
82% of people living with blindness are aged 50 and above.
80% of all visual impairment can be prevented or cured.

"Character cannot be developed 
     in ease and quiet. 
Only through experiences of trial and suffering 
     can the soul be strengthened, 
          vision cleared, 
               ambition inspired 
                    and success achieved."
Helen Keller 1880-1968

P.S.  Apologies for not commenting yesterday - but thank you for all the lovely comments, stars and a heart, which are much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.