TINY TUESDAY

I can always rely on Mr. HCB to come up with something for Tiny Tuesday - in fact, I think he quite likes to be asked!

I went out into the garden and you might be pleased to know I had got dressed, but then it was just after 10.00 a.m.  Mr. HCB was busy in the greenhouse, cutting off various parts of the tomato plants, because they don’t seem to be ripening that well.  I said that I was looking around for something for today’s Tiny Tuesday challenge so he pointed out these little garlic chive flowers and said they might be suitable.  We are still enjoying cucumbers from the greenhouse so, with the tomatoes picked earlier today, and a jacket potato, I think a salad with a few garlic chives snipped in sounds good for our evening meal.

Having come indoors, I can still smell the scent of several herbs on my hands - there is nothing quite like caressing a tender rosemary shoot or some parsley and then sniffing your hands - and of course, many herbs have medicinal properties and help to make food taste wonderful and of course, it is so good to be able to just go out into your own garden and pick what you need.

As well as some garlic chives growing just outside the greenhouse, Mr. HCB has planted some in an old wheelbarrow together with a lot of other herbs, and interestingly, although I took several shots with my Canon camera, I thought this one taken on my iPhone was sharper.

It’s still a beautiful sunny day, but the wind is stronger today so it feels much cooler, but I need to do some housework, so perhaps today should be the day - or then again, perhaps not - I will see how I feel after I’ve had my mid-morning cup of coffee!

“I believe in the magic of preparation. 
     You can make just about any foods taste wonderful 
          by adding herbs and spices. 
Experiment with garlic, cilantro (coriander), 
     basil and other fresh herbs on vegetables 
          to make them taste great.”
Jorge Cruise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.