The Rapids

I had a hankering to do some landscape shots today, so I went very early to the Maryland side of Great Falls on the Potomac.  I toyed with some waterfalls and long exposures but in the end, the longer exposures just do not work well on the turbulent falls in this location, and this looked best at just a fraction of a second.  I have included a second image of some smaller falls near one of the locks on the canal. That shot was taken with a 1.6 second exposure.  

I had a problem with most of the images being too soft when I got them up on the computer screen, and since I was using a tripod, I believe this occurred because I couldn’t get the UV filter off to put the ND filter on and so had two layers of filters. Obviously not a good idea.  

I took this shot from the observation area on Olmstead Island, which is named after Frederick Law Olmstead Jr. an American landscape architect who is best known for his wildlife conservation efforts and his lifetime commitment to national parks.  He  worked on projects in Acadia, the Everglades and  Yosemite National Park.  His father, Frederick Law Olmstead Sr, was also a landscape architect and responsible for many urban park designs, including Central Park in New York City. 
______________________
Apparently when I added the border, the exif data was stripped out. 
Sony ILCE-6000
1/20 sec at f/22, ISO 100, 105 mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.