pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The West Runton Mammoth

In 1990 after a particularly stormy night, the bones of a prehistoric woolly mammoth were discovered by walkers at the foot of the cliffs at West Runton. A further storm the following year storm revealed more of the mammoth and The Norwich Archaeological Unit began further excavations. Full excavations were then done, completed in 1995. The specimen was found to be 85% complete and the best example of it's kind found so far.

Today I woke early, left Karen's and picked up Mollie around 9. We drove back home fairly quickly until we met a 'giant tractor with even bigger trailers' convoy.....I do love Norfolk!

We arrived home just as Jon was going to do the weekly food shop. Having yesterday taken Henry in to Norwich to buy him school shoes (size 7....he was wearing a 5...whoops!) and football boots - size 9! (how does that work - is he a 7 or is he a 9?) So in all - Jon has been wonder husband this weekend. I think I'll let him stay!

After lunch we went down to West Runton as I'd heard about this magnificent beast visiting the beach for the afternoon. It looks like metal, but Jon heard someone say it was ply. Four people strapped themselves into it - and took it for a hesitant walk along the beach - very clever! We had walked down to the beach from the main road, through the field. It was a nice walk and gave us a bit of exercise before the rain descended.

Once back, Jon did jobs in the garage, I got my 40's clothes out of the loft to see if they would still fit me. Suffice to say I need to lose a few pounds if my dress, which buttons up the front, is to be decent for the 40's weekend. I have 3 weeks. Jon & Henry are kitted out and even Mollie has agreed to dress up this year - we did have one year when 3 of us were 40's clothed, but Mollie absolutely refused. She has agreed on the understanding that she is not tagged in any photo's I may upload. Watch this space.

We then tried out some hairstyles for her. She has far too much hair to do most styles, and it won't fit under a scarf. It's a work in progress.

I cooked a nice roast dinner and now we are sitting down to relax, after what has proved to be a busy but productive and enjoyable day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.