pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A bits and pieces day

As the weather has been steriotypical bank holiday weather, we changed our plans. A shame, as we had been looking forward to the Aylsham show today, but a little rain we can bear; torrential non stop stair rods we cannot!

Instead, we sat in bed until 10 then got up and pottered about. Jon took the dogs out, while I tidied a bit. That seems to be a full time job in a small house! I then got my sewing box out and turned an old pillowcase into a laundry bag for Mollie to take to Karen's. Then I decided I'd start a skirt I'd bought material for some weeks ago - but could I find the material?!? I looked everywhere, and feeling frustrated had to give up. After lunch I hoovered, we caught the end of Summer Holiday on TV (I am sorry, but once a Cliff fan always a Cliff fan) and I had another fruitless material search.

Jon was doing proper jobs - boarding the garage loft, painting Henry's bedroom, making shelves, whereas I then decided to swap my handbag, which took a good half an hour!

At about 3.30 I had a final search for the missing fabric. Hooray!! It was in a bag on top of my wardrobe. I'm sure you wanted to know!

So back down stairs & without a pattern, I started to draw what I thought was the right sort of size & shape. I want to line it too. I've never made a lined skirt before. The fabric is quite heavy - well, it's actually curtain material but I loved the pattern and convinced myself I could make it work! With pieces cut out and pinned, I got my helper to adjust the bits over the hips. Luckily for me it's the only part of me that isn't fat. So here is Jon pinning under instruction. I then tacked it, made the waistband and pinned the lining. Now I wish I had a pattern as I really am making it up as I go along! I've had a look inside a 'bought' skirt and I hope to find time in the evenings this week to copy it & get mine all put together. Watch this space!

Bed now as I have to get up for work tomorrow while everyone else will still be sleeping! Oh well - it's a short week & Daniel is coming home tomorrow after his 12 days away working at various festivals! Looking forward to seeing him :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.