*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

242/365: Close encounters of the heron kind

Went for a nice walk today - up Lady Lane then over to Micklethwaite and East Morton then dropped down to the Leeds Liverpool canal. As we were walking back towards Bingley I noticed a heron on the towpath in the distance. We got closer and closer and it just didn't move. In the end I got right up to it so just stood looking at it for a few minutes and took a pic. Eventually it nonchalantly turned its head and looked at me with its yellowy eyes as if to say, "Right, you've had your fun, now bugger off and leave me to catch my tea!" before it flapped over to the other side of the canal.

It was the closest I've ever been to a heron. It's a shame I didn't have my proper camera with me so I could have finally got a detailed close-up, but never mind. It kind of worried me that it didn't seem in the least concerned about humans. They're not all as nice to wildlife as me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.