MONO MONDAY - SECRET

SECRET - adjective
not known or seen or not meant to be known or seen by others.
SECRET - noun 
something that is kept or meant to be kept unknown or unseen by others.
SECRET - origin 
(secluded) from Latin secretus - separate, set apart

I thought of the verse in the Sermon on the Mount which says:

When you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.

I have a “quiet” or “secret” room, where I go to read my Bible and pray, so it seemed a good place to start.  This beautiful Parker Knoll chair belonged to Mr. HCB’s mother, who was a gentle, Christian lady, so I often think of her when I am sitting here.

The Message puts it very well:

Here’s what I want you to do: 
Find a quiet, secluded place 
so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. 
Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. 
The focus will shift from you to God, 
and you will begin to sense his grace.
Matthew 6:6 
The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.