TINY TUESDAY - GARDEN SPIDER

From Robert Burns’ poem “To a Mouse”
The best laid schemes o' mice an' men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry] 

Blippers who live north of the border will know what this means - but for those "Across the Pond", it means that sometimes we think we will do something then our plans often go awry because of a subsequent change of events.

This happened to me today - I had taken photographs of a tiny cherry leaf, as our cherry tree is being pruned today, and you can see that in my Extras.  All was going well until Mr. HCB came in and said “If you want to see a big spider, then there’s one in amongst the raspberries.”  In the scheme of things, this IS a big spider, but I think it still counts as “tiny” for the challenge today.

Sadly, it was in such a position that I could only take the underside - but it was fascinating to watch.  I sat myself on a stone and just marvelled at the way it was spinning its web.  However, when I tried to move some of the raspberry canes to take a photograph from the other side, it left “centre stage” and crawled under a leaf.  Looking in Mr. HCB’s book of Complete British Wildlife, we think it’s just a garden spider - but although it may be common, it will have its few moments of fame on Blip today.

The artist is a receptacle for emotions
     that come from all over the place:
from the sky,
     from the earth,
          from a scrap of paper,
               from a passing shape,
from a spider’s web.
Pablo Picasso

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.