First Blackberries!

This evening we went on one of our regular walks along one of the nearby lakes.  Since the blackberries looked like they were just about ripe enough, I brought along a little container for picking.  The first ones I tried were REALLY sour, but I soon found some nice sweet ones.  Dolly gets really fed up of waiting for me to pick blackberries!  She doesn't seem to interested in them. 

It was a rather cloudy evening, but it was still a pretty view across the lake. We stopped to talk to this fisherman.  He was operating a remote-controlled 'boat' which is used specifically to drop bait way out into the water.  He said it costs several hundred pounds to buy but they can cost several thousands!  Some people consider it 'cheating'.  I said we cheat in almost every area of life, so why not fishing?

I wish I could say it was a lovely peaceful walk - it was in a way, but we could also hear the beat of the music from the nearby Reading Festival, the world-famous Festival held this same Bank Holiday weekend every year.  I must say, I have never heard the sound drifting this far out before - the wind must have just been blowing the right/wrong way.  Still, it didn't spoil the evening too much.  I used to live much closer in my last house and I really COULD hear it!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.