The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Salon

I decided not to risk one of the street barbers and instead found a good hairdressers on Foursquare. I arrived to find organised chaos. It was a big business with probably over 20 customers all being looked after by even more staff. I was asked to sit down and then the manager gave me some options in perfect English. I opted for a non-English speaker because it was far cheaper (only £5) and my haircut doesn't require any complicated instructions. For an extra 60p I got a hair wash too, so I was taken upstairs, given a 45 minute head massage/wash and even a face massage! It was so relaxing, I might just go back for that bit next time. The actual cut only took 10 minutes and this photo was taken before the lady added product to my hair, which is why it doesn't look great. 

I went for some sushi for lunch and when I was getting on my bike to leave, I saw a tourist (on his own) crossing the road and shouting abuse at locals on scooters. He walked up to the restaurant where a quiet young lady was there to open the door for him. As he entered, he shouted "Sushi, motherfuckers!" I was so embarrassed to be a fellow foreigner in this lovely country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.