Whatever next.

My walk this morning took me past a pile of well rotted wood chippings.This was where I blipped a fungus which I subsequently learnt was Agrocyba rivulosa.

Today there was something very different. This I believe is a slime mold. Not really part of the Kingdom of Fungi but often studied by fungi experts (mycologists). Scientifically I believe it is a blob of protoplasm without any cell walls. It enjoys growing on well rotted wood and bark chips.

If this is too much for you then you may prefer to know to know that it is often called scrambled egg slime but also has other less pleasant names.

You may also appreciate why it inspired a Science Fiction Movie called " The Blob" which was made in 1958 and remade in1988. In the film a man eating ball of plasma fell to earth in a meteor. It consumed a nearby hermit and....well you can guess the rest.

Of course I may be totally wrong and if anyone out there can put me right I shall be delighted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.