Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bitten Off Too Much

to chew.

I broke down and bought a bird feeder.  I filled it with the hope that it might attract something other than finches.  Wrong.  Maybe it's too small.  Maybe the word hasn't gotten out into the neighborhood yet.  I know that cardinals live nearby.

It was almost completely full in the morning.  I watched as the little "piggy" finches filled their tummies on the seeds, spilling more than they were eating.  The doves, quail and thrashers liked that.  They benefited from the spoils.  So between the birds on the ground, at the feeder and the hummers flying about, there was a lot of activity in the morning.

When I got home later in the evening, the feeder was less than a quarter full.  I've got news for those birds.  I can't afford to fill it every day.  They will be lucky if I can fill it every other day because it's not as inexpensive as the water.  They aren't going to get plump by eating in my yard alone.  Maybe more in the winter.  Go find the bugs now fellows because birdseed in Laurie's yard is a treat, not the main course!

New to my backyard, yesterday, a Broad-billed hummingbird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.