Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

New To My Backyard

My hands are wrapped in Ace (elastic) bandages to help stabilize my fingers and control the overall pain from my wrists on up.  I look like a boxer ready to put on the gloves. So I can't type much.

This is a broad-billed hummingbird.  It has some orange in it's bill, especially near the head, which makes that its easiest identifying characteristic.  I hope it shows up in the photo. It's a little ragged (so I "painted" her a little) because it was at quite some distance.  I wasn't really ready to shoot when I saw her!

So far  this summer that makes these species captured by me in the yard:  Costa's (Zippy), Anna's, Rufous and now the Broad-billed.  I've seen the Black-chinned, just haven't gotten a snap of one of the little dickens yet.  Will be stalking them next!!

I tossed in an extra of a wind blown hummer.  Give it a title!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.