The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Bedraggled

A short burst of monsoon-like rain at around 3pm left the flowers and foliage of Stroud down, but not destroyed. I left work at around 4.30 pm and slogged home up the hill. That's the worst part of no longer being on holiday: a 20-minute uphill journey across the town centre and out the other side. It never gets easier: I don't find myself wanting to break into a run.

I shot this poor rose on the way, on Bowbridge Lane. Then I began to tackle the million things I have to do in September: renewal of just about every document, membership or policy I possess. I also made some rose face cream to post off to the other side of the country. Then time to pop the dinner on.. I just want to curl up and finish my West Highland romance, The Larach by Alexandra Raife. Written in a pre-internet era, when word processors were more common than PCs, it is refreshingly free from the intrusion of reality. For instance, it is never mentioned that the heroine, a young widow, might one day need to go out and earn her keep. And why would she?

I've ordered two more by the same author.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.