The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Back in business

The Golden Fleece pub, in Nelson street, used to be my local when I lived closer to town. It had a great music scene, around the year 2000. In recent years it's fallen on hard times. Last time I blipped it https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4273699
the exterior had been painted a tasteful brown and cream and the pub was up for rent. This year the builders have been at work, the exterior is white again. and it's open once more.

I passed the pub on my way home from my first day back at work. I was tired, so contented myself with blipping the sign. The weather had gone bananas, but we were inside most of the day so didnt mind the showers. I did enjoy the sunshine on the walk home, though.

Being in Stroud again after so much time away is a bit like being a tourist. In Stroud, various groups are allowed to mount displays in empty shopfronts. I passed one which utterly baffled me: I thought it was an ad for joining the armed forces, until I realised it was part of a 'Wage Peace" campaign by the local Quakers.

Back home, I had a little lie down, having decided not to go climbing. It's great to be back home again after so much time away, though I shall miss my coastal walks.

PS I haven't made any bread here yet in the machine I brought back on the train yesterday because we seemed to have so much of the store-bought stuff already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.