The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Somewhere in the Lake District

... as viewed from a high speed train between Carlisle and Oxenholme stations. The weather was still looking sunny in parts, but after we left the Lakes, the lashing rain began.

I travelled back from near Oban to Stroud. on a bank holiday. during a train strike, with a bread machine in an old suitcase attached to a trolley with bungee cords. I only had to get on and off SIX different trains! My shins have a few bruises to show for it. The trains were exceptionally crowded, but the wartime spirit prevailed, and people began to have impromptu parties in the corridors.

It's lovely to be back home, but I have to go back to work tomorrow. Alas, my West Coast Summer seems to have come to an end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.