The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Light on Loch Etive

Today was a calm day. I got up late, then made sure my niece was ready (and practised!) to walk over to her piano lesson with her big brother. Their mother, my sister Kate, was out at work. My other grown up niece left for work, but there was still a bike free, so I cycled along to the pier by Ardchattan Priory. This used to be one of my favourite places to sit and waste time or read my Dick Francis novel when I was a teenager with a newly-acquired bike.

Now, however, the fish farming is more evident than ever before, (it wasn't there in the 70s) so the view over Loch Etive and Cruachan isn't what it was. I took photos and cycled back to the house. where I made a bacon sarnie. I used bread I'd baked earlier, in the bread machine I bought at the shop at Oban tip (Moleigh) last month. I had just got into the hammock overlooking the loch and the field of Himalayan balsam that is keeping the Japanese knotweed at bay (yes, really) when Kate returned. She had a sandwich too, and we abandoned plans to do any cleaning that day, as the sun was shining, for once.

Later, my sister Mouse and her family came over for Sunday dinner, as it was my last night, and my niece Maria will be leaving soon, too. We had roast beef with all the usual trimmings, and Spanish Turron, (hard nougat) which we'd found in LIDL. By the time we'd cleared up the meal, it was late, but Kate, Maria and I watched an unusual Icelandic film called Of Horses and Men. It had its darkly comic moments, with emphasis on the darkness.

THen it was off to bed at midnight, because it's back to England-shire tomorrow. All good things, etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.