The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Flying Dutchman in Oban harbour

I was at home with my hangover, still sorting out books and clutter, when I realised I'd better call my mother to tell her that Maria's planned dinner party was postponed, as Maria was working a split shift! I couldn't get hold of her, but she rang five minutes later to say that she was coming over to make a pavlova for the pudding! I persuaded her not to, but as she wanted to go shopping for an important outfit, and hadn't found anything in Fort Willam or Doune (why Doune?), I suggested that we both try Oban next.

Just then, Maria, who had cycled off to work, arrived back, having not been to work after all! She said she'd love to come with us, and would treat us all to lunch instead of the dinner party. What's not to like about that?

Off we went, and called Kate en route, and she joined us at the restaurant once she'd picked up Jezzie from a birthday party at the swimming pool. We got almost drowned just walking from the car to Piazza, so I had to order a coffee to start with!
However, as the restaurant overlooks the bay, and there was an unusually large number of tall ships coming into harbour, it was worthwhile. I popped out between the raindrops and shot this image of the Flying Dutchman. I put my dramatic filter on, in-camera, because the sky was so dreadfully grey that it was the only way to get any sort of shot worth looking at. I think the smaller craft may be rowing out with supplies, judging by the repeated sightings of a Landrover full of essentials hovering on the quay. On the other hand, it doesn't look as if it has any room ... In the background, a Cal Mac ferry can be spotted. (They sail frequently from Oban to many of the inner Hebrides).

After lunch, we went to the outfitter's (great word, but it is that type of shop), all three generations of females aged 78 to 8, to look at clothes, and buy handbags. We are not a very dressy or stereotypically girly family, (the West Highland climate inspires severely practical dressing) so this was really exceptional, and great fun. MY mother didn't find anything she liked enough to buy, but the sales assistant was beyond helpful, and said that new autumn stock was coming in constantly. It certainly felt like autumn already! We did take photos, but only for my mother to look at afterwards, to compare the various outfits. I'm sure she will find something lovely eventually. I bought a top for the same occasion, which I've since realised will not go with my Fabulous Coat, which I must blip one day. Never mind, we have plenty of time left, and as a fringe benefit, I have discovered where in Oban to buy L'Occitane soaps and creams!

By the time we got out of the shop, Oban was pretty much closed for the day. On walking back to Kate's car, we discovered that it had been ticketed. Still, we got over that eventually, and went home and watched a sweet DVD called About Time, which Jezzie adored, and has been watching ever since! We also did several micro-jigsaws each (the Wentworth wooden ones, which I collect occasionally, and do on holidays/ train journeys) and lit the woodburner, so a cosy night was enjoyed by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.