The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The sun shone in Argyll

... it did, honestly! For all of a few moments.

I am back blipping this shot, so having to dredge up the memories. As Kate was at work and the children at school, I decided to sort out the bookshelf in the hall that Kate had expressed a desire to have emptied. It was thoroughly depressing going through some of my mother's religious books and pamphlets from the 1960s, not least because they were thick with dust and grime. She's a great reader, my mother. I also found a vast quantity of crime novels and Georgette Heyer historical romances. I sorted the books into trays for charity shops, and dog eared papers for recycling. When Kate returned, we took the books and some surplus chairs to town, because Oxfam and the Mod shop are almost next to each other. We had to go to Homebase, for some reason, and then discovered a sort of cheap and nasty version of the same shop, where we bought a vast quantity of bits an bobs for the home, because Kate is still setting up. We later discovered that some of the stuff we got from there doesn't even work! At the recycling bins we found a suitcase with a Canadian flag on it, which I took for the purpose of transporting my bread machine back to Stroud, on the train, the following Monday. I am not too proud to buy a bread machine from the tip shop, and get my suitcase from the bins!

Back at the ranch, we found that the bread machine, which was supposed to have produced a delicious gluten-free loaf in our absence, had been switched off mid-cycle, and had only made dough. I set it to Bake only, and eventually it made a sort of giant Yorkshire pudding, with a dip in the middle!

Later, we went out to celebrate my sister M's boyfriend's birthday, and all drank way too much, and walked a hell of a long way home from the pub. In this pic, however, it's still daylight, and there seems to be a variety of bread-machine loaves of varying ages and types on the chopping board, as well as the usual kitchen clutter, and the radio set to Radio 6. you can tell it's not a staged shot, I just wanted to blip the sun while it was actually shining, as that did not happen a great deal this summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.